Arkansas Department of Health Recognizes Hospitals for Stroke Care Performance

The Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) recognized 15 hospitals for excellence in stroke care performance at the Arkansas Chronic Disease Forum held at the Little Rock Crowne Plaza.

The ADH awards are based on hospital performance as documented in the Arkansas Stroke Registry between July of 2016 and June of 2017. They are given to hospitals for providing defect-free stroke care (90% or higher adherence). Defect-free care is based on the seven American Heart Association/American Stroke Association (AHA/ASA) achievement measures of the Get With The Guidelines®-Stroke Patient Management Tool. These measures are benchmarked according to the standards of evidence-based stroke care guidelines to ensure stroke patients receive appropriate and timely care.

“We are delighted to see the improvement in stroke care as demonstrated by these hospitals”, said Appathurai Balamurugan, MD, DrPH, state chronic disease director and medical director for the ADH Chronic Disease Branch. “Through our work with the communities, EMS, and hospitals we hope to improve quality of stroke care among Arkansans with this devastating condition.”

The Arkansas Stroke Registry (ASR) is the ADH stroke surveillance and quality improvement program. Oversight for the ASR is provided by the Acute Stroke Care Task Force (ASCTF). The ASR partners closely with the AHA/ASA, Emergency Medical Services (EMS), the ASCTF,  Arkansas Stroke Assistance through Virtual Emergency Support (AR SAVES), and the Mercy Telestroke system. The primary goal of the ASR is to perform stroke surveillance, monitor stroke care performance, and provide stroke education and quality improvement assistance to improve stroke patient care and outcomes.

Hospitals receiving stroke care performance awards for defect-free patient care include:

Baptist Health Medical Center - Little Rock

Baptist Health Medical Center - Heber Springs

CHI St. Vincent Hospital Hot Springs

CHI St. Vincent Morrilton

CHRISTUS St. Michael Health System

Five Rivers Medical Center

Forrest City Medical Center

Medical Center of South Arkansas

Mercy Hospital Fort Smith

Mercy Hospital Northwest Arkansas

Methodist University Hospital

Sparks Regional Medical Center

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Wadley Regional Medical Center

Washington Regional Medical Center

Visit for more information on stroke prevention in Arkansas.